My God

Presidential candidate, Dr. Ben Carson was recently quoted as saying the following:

“I would not advocate that we put a Muslim in charge of this nation,” he said on Sunday’s Meet the Press. “I absolutely would not agree with that.”

Okay, let’s get the jokes out of the way first.  This guy is a brain surgeon?  Calling Dr. Howard, Dr. Fine, Dr. Howard.  I’d rather have Moe, Larry, and Curly operate on me.  Secondly, dude, do you hear yourself?  You need to stop self medicating.  Listening to you is like listening to a cassette tape at half speed.  Where does one even get Quaaludes in 2015?

All jokes aside, how is anyone really telling the pollsters that they’re going to vote for this guy?  Are there really that many crazy people out there?  You’re actually telling the press that someone’s religion should preclude them from leading our country?  You do realize which country you live in, correct?  And you do realize that you’re black, right?  And that until very recently in our history, the idea of a black person becoming president was ludicrous?  Although, to be fair, I’m pretty sure I have more soul in me than this guy(okay, one more joke).

I think the root of this is that when a certain percentage of people think of a Muslim, the first thought that enters their mind is that of a radical.  Of course we do not want a radical, extremist, religious person as our President. Or is it just a radical, extremist Muslim that the good doctor does not want?

And what about the rest of us?  Almost all of our presidents have been protestant.  We’ve had one Catholic and one born again(I’m looking at you, W). Are we, as a country, okay with our president being a non-christian?  A recent gallop poll showed that 94% would vote for a Catholic(okay, still christian but a bit ethnic, off to a good start), 91% would vote for a Jew(oy vey, I’ll believe it when I see it but still, I’m pleasantly surprised), 80% for a Mormon(sorry Mitt), and only 58% for a Muslim(you know you have problems, Muslims, when us Jews poll higher than you).

But hold on, Muslims.  You’re actually not bringing up the rear!  That’s right, Atheists are at the very bottom, with only 54% saying they would vote for a non-believer to be president.  As a devout non-believer myself, I can say that I am not surprised by this in the least.  We have come to be relatively tolerant about religion but you better believe in something.  If you’re a godless heathen, well, there must be something wrong with you.  Many people do look at you just a little differently and I sometimes feel like I’ve bitten my tongue half off when a conversation turns to religion.  People are very easily offended by the idea that there is no god.  Someone once asked me what I do believe in and I told him music.  It’s a shallow answer but the best I could come up with.

Can I get an amen, Dr. Carson?  Didn’t think so.

PS.  I’m thoroughly convinced that President Obama’s dirty little secret is not that he’s Muslim but that he’s a non-believer.  I wonder if that will ever come out after he is out of office?

6 thoughts on “My God

  1. What Ben Carson was trying to refer to was supporting a muslim that believes strongly in sharia law. Which most of the civilized world is against sharia law. This is the same law that lets you keep women uneducated, finds no problem with raping of women and children and many others things that we in the west seem to find reprehensible.

    Like

    1. Perhaps, but that’s not what he said. Also, I didn’t even mention the part about him being a creationist! That’s a completely unacceptable thought process for a presidential candidate.

      Like

  2. I am not the least concerned about the religious affiliation of our next president, so long as he/she is a champion of freedom of religion in the US and works diligently to protect all in the world from persecution by any one. I also expect our President to clearly denounce the intentions of any religious radicals who would seek to replace the secular municipal, state or federal laws of the US with their own that are rooted squarely in dogma. I also expect the President to respect and protect the rights of the atheist heathens too…I’m a card carrying member of that club. Would the Dr. have my back?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

